Countdowns · Uncategorized

TOP 10 Video Games of ALL TIME

One day I will write a post about my obsession with top 10s.

This is a monumental task for me. It’s difficult to come up with favorites in anything, but the world of video game discussion on the Internet is infatuated with the top 10. I’ve tried coming up with top 10s for every year since 2010, and it has never been easy.

(That said a top 10 of 2015 will definitely happen)

Enough of that here’s my top 10 of all time.

10. The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth

2015-11-04_00003.jpg

Replaybility. That’s a made up word. It refers to a video game’s capacity for replays. The Binding if Isaac is a prime example of a video game you can replay over and over again. In fact, it was designed like that. It’s a Roguelike, which is also a made up word. In my opinion, it’s the best Roguelike. Or Roguelite. Whatever you want to call it.

The Binding of Isaac is a game with subject matter you shouldn’t think too much about. Rather than story or aesthetic, the game is about how it plays. You move in four directions, and you shoot in four directions. Simple.

Yet the game contains these items that affect the player in a variety of ways. There’s an item that changes your tears (bullets) into ginormous evil-red circles that fill up the room in microseconds, like the picture above. There’s items that change the player’s character into smaller versions of themself, making it easier to dodge enemy projectiles. Some items add health, some take away health. Not every item helps the player.

There are so many items that a portion of player’s experience in Binding of Isaac is seeing what crazy combinations the game will thrust upon said player. Each run of the game takes around an hour, so replaying the game is appealing, especially if the player wants to fight the final final boss, who is unlocked by fulfilling various objectives during multiple runs of the game. The player also unlocks items, bosses, and enemies which then add to the already massive pool of randomly generating items, bosses, and enemies.

I have yet to beat, or even fight, the final final boss. I haven’t even looked up how to get there. This game is so hard that I don’t want to think about getting there yet.

But at its core, the game is a shmup. I like shmups. You shoot, and you dodge. Looks difficult. With practice it becomes relatively easy to a viewer’s expectation. That’s the perfect difficulty curve. The player must develop a skill, and test that skill against the game’s random number generator.

I watch people play this game, and I’ve put dozens of hours into it across its many ports that I have purchased. Afterbirth, an enormously deep expansion for the game, recently came out and I’ve yet to really sink my teeth into it. One way or another, the game constantly finds itself into my daily rotation. That’s why I put this fairly recent release on my top 10 of all time, and the only reason it’s so low is because it’s so new.

9. Fallout New Vegas

fallout_newvegas-5

I am really into role playing video games at the moment, and at the moment, Fallout New Vegas happens to be my favorite. I have loved Fallout ever since catching word of its existence. I love the humor, I love the post apocalyptic setting, and I love the possibilities each game contains.

New Vegas is especially er…special…because it combines the exploratory elements of Bethesda RPGs, with the seemingly infinite role playing possibilities of the CRPG Fallout games, both 1 and 2. This creates a strong experience of freedom, albeit within the game’s world, and what makes sense within that game’s world. No, you cannot sprout angel wings and fly across the Mojave firing mini nukes at every spec you see, but I dare so you shouldn’t expect to do so in the first place because that wouldn’t make much sense in the context of the world. You can however murder the main antagonist of the game. You can also choose that antagonist, given which faction the player sides with. Such is a staple in many Bethesda games, but this game does it better than those Bethesda games. And yes, that is because Obsidian developed it.

The game’s faction system really makes this Fallout stand out amongst the others. Instead of having morality defined by an overall karma system, it is defined separately within the game’s multiple factions and communities. This created a scenario where I massacred everyone in the starting village, yet became something of a savior when I allied myself with the NCR, one of the three major factions in New Vegas. The loot and crafting in this game is also majorly improved over 3, which is good for me because I love loot.

Also the game has amazing Mod support on PC, and yes that adds to the video game’s overall quality. User created content adds to a game exponentially, and Bethesda games are known for fostering a growing scene of modders and content developers who slay their free time without any form of foreseeable compensation. This is also good because goddamn is this game glitchy.

It has an unheard of amount of glitches and problems, and even with mods I could not get this game to work properly on my PC without crashing. I actually had to quit playing because the game wouldn’t stop crashing, though this may have to do with the way I updated to Windows 10.

8. WWF No Mercy

NoMercyGameBox.jpg

I love wrestling games almost more than I enjoy watching wrestling. The games occupied a huge chunk of my gaming life when I was younger.

No Mercy came out when wrestling was the hottest it had ever been. Everyone liked wrestling, everyone watched WWF (now WWE duh fooled you), and everyone liked The Rock enough to forgive and adore his terrible food puns. No Mercy takes the Attitude era and vomits it into your oatmeal. It tastes sweet, like honey. Thanks, video games, for improving my oat meal.

No Mercy is highly regarded as the best wrestling video game of all time. Part of that has to do with nostalgia fans have for that time in wrestling, but unquestionably the bulk of this high regard has to do with the quality of the product. The game’s engine is still one of the funnest ways to do wresting in video games, combining a healthy amount of aracade fun and simulation. The create a wrestler is still a high point of the game too, although it’s not nearly as complex and feature-rich as the later Smackdown and 2k games. You might not have all the features of newer games. You can’t create an arena or a title belt. You cannot upload creations to an online server. The game’s single player “season” mode is practically non-existent, instead offering different titles for the player to aim for, which is not as strong as the Universe mode in the 2k series or the Season in Here Comes the Pain. But the amount of fun to be had playing against friends is absolutely unrivaled. If my copy hadn’t been one of the many unfortunately glitched copies, where the save data frequently deletes itself for lawls, then I would still be playing this game.

7. Duke Nukem 3D

pixle pig duke 3d.jpg

Damn. Looking at this screenshot makes me want to play this game again.

Duke Nukem 3D was my first First Person Shooter back when I was, I don’t know, 7? That’s not a good age to play this game. Except it’s the perfect age to play this game. Gore, curse words, attitude…what more could a boy want? After playing nothing much except Mario games this was a fresh shot in the arm.

What really makes this game special is how well it holds up. Obviously the graphics are nothing to gawk at, but the game play and level design still hangs over First Person Shooters coming out today. It took the maze like structure of the DOOM series and attached different useable items, a bulk of weapons that were fun to use (for example, a shrink ray that would shrink aliens down so that you could step on them), and a sense of vertical exploration and level structure unheard of back in the early FPS days and still quite not matched today. The game contains so many secrets that replaying is a highly appealing, and it’s certainly one of those games that I go back to every now and then to beat because it’s still so fun to play.

First Person shooters from this era are still the best, and Duke Nukem 3D is amongst my favorites. Shame that Duke Nukem Forever was pure water trash.

6. Half Life 2

HL2-City171

This is a weird one for my top 10, because it’s the only game with a focus on some kind of a linear narrative. In video games, linear narrative is something I’m not particularly interested in. I’ve never seen a game all the way through purely because I wanted to see the end of a story. I need something else to keep me going, rather it be game play mechanics or the simple drive of wanting to win.

Half Life 2 has its appealing mechanics, yet the atmosphere is so much more rich than games at the time of its release, or those found in today’s linear first person shooters. Rather than a shallow attempt at building that video game experience akin to a summer block buster, Half Life 2 focuses on pacing, balancing combat and puzzle solving. Levels go from a James Bond fight with a helicopter, to a Resident Evil trip through a zombie infested city. After some country side exploration the player finds themselves fighting a rebellion against a Big Brother figure villain and his massive, infinite army of souless drones equipped with artificial intelligence far more impressive than most games out there. It is a special, special game that does linear FPS right, where as so many others have failed, and instead focused on multiplayer.

Ravenholm, the famous level where the player must survive through a city infested, head crabs, zombies, and the corpses of past inhabitants, is one of my favorite parts of the game. The player is almost always short on ammo, of which the level makes sure to keep sparse, however they also have their gravity gun which was recently provided. The level does an amazing job with tutorializing the gun’s purposes in both combat and level exploration, while also giving you an experience that overshadows such tutorialization.  It’s a great example of how to teach players mechanics: building the player’s lesson in the game.

It’s also just a tense ass level. Every time I’ve played through this level I’ve been at the edge of my seat, listening and waiting for the inevitable fast zombie to jump out.

But Ravenholm isn’t itself the reason I look back on my experience with Half Life 2 so fondly. Not having played the game in years, and only completing it once (perhaps twice, can’t remember), I felt it needed a spot here because when I originally got the game I devoured it faster than any video game in my life. At the time there was nothing that came close to this game. The graphics and atmosphere, the physics-driven puzzles, the smart AI, and the frequent moments of emergent gameplay kept me absolutely hooked. These days, I’m constantly rotating a number of video games so that I don’t tire of anything too quickly, so looking back at a game that could keep my attention this is reason enough to consider it top 10.

The game may have solidified a start to a decade of FPS games focusing on linear narrative and set pieces, but I loved every second.

(Not to mention I loved Episodes 1 and 2, I love Team Fortress 2 and CS:S, and without Half Life 2 how would we get wacky ass Gary’s Mod videos on YouTube?)

5. Castlevania Symphony of the Night

castlevania_symphony_of_the_night_art_sony_hd-wallpaper-440394

Art. Music. Game play. These three things contribute into making a successful video game in my eyes. The story, while important for some titles, takes a back-seat in this game, and in most video games I consider favorites of mine. Castlevania Symphony of the Night is one of those titles I consider a favorite because of the impeccable music, fantastic imagery, and challenging game play.

The music is up to the standards of Castlevania, and the soundtrack for Symphony is certainly one of the greatest soundtracks to any video game ever made. I am generally not one to just listen to the soundtrack while doing other things but this game is a strong exception. Its the perfect backdrop for reading or writing, or working out, or exercising, or commuting to school/work, whatever you do when you also listen to music. The music fits as a backdrop, and the focal point, if the listener wants to focus on it. Few pieces of music conceived can do that, especially video game music, which generally fulfills the roll of backdrop in favor of the player focusing on the action.

And the game play is great. Instead of the whip, which every title (more or less) favored in the Castlevania series, Alucard (your protagonist) uses a series of collectible weapons found throughout the game. These range from swords to axes to my favorite, shield rods, which pump out spells relative to the shield the player has equipped. Players also find armor pieces that effect player stats, as well as spells the player inputs using a fighting game like button combination. Its certainly not a perfect system, yet Castlevania Symphony of the Night excels in providing an unique experience to the player with all its seemingly tacked-on systems.

Well, unique until you play the onslaught of spiritual successors.

There’s a lot of RPGing in this game, in that once a player encounters a boss too tough to tackle (frequent occurrence considering the difficulty of the bosses in this game), the player can generally just go off through the castle and grind a few levels, come back and have an easier time. However, not unlike the future game Dark Souls, players don’t need to grind at all to get through the game. There’s a lot of skill to be gained and employed throughout this title that the player gains from playing. My favorite trick, only usable with weapons of a certain speed, is to attack diagonally whilst descending from a jump, immediately crouch and attack again whilst landing to perform a faster attack–effectively throwing out two attacks in a second. Find the right weapon, and the player can wreck just about every normal enemy efficiently.

Another notable feature of this game is its post content. See, the player can beat this game in six hours. Or so the game leads the player to believe. With the collection of a few hidden items, and then beating the final boss, players reveal an entire new game following said final boss, which leads to different, stronger enemies and bosses, as well as new items to collect and a final, final boss. Its a great system. When I originally played the game I had no idea, so I beat the final boss and became extremely confused after my six or seven odd hours with the game. Surely this game isn’t this short? Searching online I was delighted to find out about the post game, and how the actual final ending is still far off. It adds a nice layer to the game that is rewarding to crafty players who explore the castle fully. Or future players who, unbeknownst to developers at the time, have access to the infinite knowledge that is the Internet.

4. Doom

DOOM

It’s the first first person shooter so of course I’d put it above all the other first person shooter’s on my list! Duh. Next game.

Nah, I like it for other reasons. The music, the enemy design, the feeling of the guns, the goofy amount of gore, the actual terror the player can feel even when playing this game decades after its release. There’s nothing like this game. Except Doom II, of course.

And yeah, the argument could be made that Doom II was much better. And maybe it is. It has more enemies, more varied level design, and a fucking double barrel shotgun.

But I don’t go back and beat Doom II every year. I beat Doom every year. It’s the fucking best first person shooter ever. It’s fun to move around the level as fast as you can and try to avoid enemies to see how fast you can beat a level. It’s fun to slowly explore the game’s multiple levels to see if you can find all the ridiculously tedious to find secrets. It’s fun to engage every enemy, and try to kill every enemy in every level. It’s fun to circle enemies to make them fight each other.

The game’s just so fun. It was made when video games were video games, and developers were only out to make a video game that was fun. And had good graphics, impressed consumers enough to increase desirability, push the boundaries of a pre-Mortal Kombat gore thirsty audience, whatever. The point is the GAME WAS FUN.

The game had so many secrets to find. That’s one of the reason I found the level design to be so fun to explore, even though the layout was tedious maze. Finding a sweet rocket launcher early on was great, especially when it opened the fucking wall for a crowd of enemies to march out and attack. The game isn’t punishing the player for finding the secret, it’s saying “Hey, good job finding that rocket launcher, here’s some things to shoot it at.” Because the game knows that shooting a group of enemies with a rocket launcher is fun. And it is.

FUN GET IT YEAH.

There’s  a reason modders and mappers and blah are still working on modding this game. I don’t know that reason truthfully. PROBABLY BECAUSE THE GAME IS FUN.

Also I know DOOM wasn’t the first first person shooter, you fuckin dweeb. Stop trying to correct everything you read on the Internet!

Everyone knows the first first person shooter was pong for the turbographics 5000 super nintendo gensis fuck you.

3. Dark Souls

012

YO!

I love this fucking game so fucking goddamn much.

Let me calm down for a second.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay maybe now I can coherently dicussYO I FUCKING LOVE THIS GODDAMN GAME SO FUCKING GODDAMN MUCH!

SO Dark Souls, right? When Demon’s Souls came out I didn’t have a PS3, but I looked on in awe and anticipation. The game seemed so fresh, so challenging and yet…somehow, even at a time where I didn’t approach difficulty in the healthiest of ways with my video games…I saw an alluring element. Fun? No, not necessarily. It was something about the game’s world that just oozed potential. It was dirty dark, medieval hellish fantasy, with slow methodical combat that seemed so fitting.

It was also just another RPG that wasn’t turn-based and fans were gushing about it.

So when the sequel was announced, and announced as a multi platform game rather than PS3 exclusive, I was happy as hell. I didn’t get it on release, instead saving money for Skyrim (a good game but I was sorely mistaken on this decision), but I did end up renting the game for a night or two.

The first time a player enters a Souls game it’s…it’s something special. You come out of that first session looking like raw meat. The game is ruthless, and while it somewhat teaches the player how to play, you are still left to your own devices entirely as far as building your character, combat prioritization, and the environment as a whole, never quite knowing where to go unless you play THE CLOSEST attention to the absolutely esoteric NPC dialogue that, at first glance, always seems worthless in terms of story and directing the player. You beat the tutorial boss, which is a task for a beginner, and your thrown into an area that presents you with three directions. I took the wrong one for about an hour before I realized the direction to go was even there in the first place, detailed the environment is, and I was delighted to find myself in a much better, more doable adventure.

Until I got my ass handed to me by the fucking Taurus demon, the first actual boss of the game.

I would then grind, updating my stats ineffectively, but I wouldn’t beat that boss because I had to take the game back. Months later I would buy it, and I would find myself creating a new character with more knowledge than I had before. I got far this time. Well…farther. Up to Ornstein and Smough, who wrecked my shit in a way that made victory seem impossible and not worth the effort. I’d then trade the game for Dragon’s Dogma, which wasn’t the best idea, however I don’t regret it because that fucking game rocks too.

Even as I sucked, I was obsessed with this game. Especially the first time I played it, when I originally rented it and couldn’t beat poor old Taurus boy. I thought about the game constantly as I walked to class, thinking about how unobtainable victory was, and how satisfying it was to finally achieve said victory. It’s this feeling of push and pull not many games have, and it has to do with the feel of the combat. You see an enemy; you put up your shield. You strafe, watching your stamina as you block blows, and finally attack once you see your opening. Then you die some enemies later because of a stupid misstep, loosing all progress you had that would have led to more levels, or better equipment. And its always your fault. You, the player, are in full control. Even though victory seems so unobtainable. It’s a battle against yourself.

I even wrote terrible poems about Dark Souls. Maybe I’ll put them here. I probably won’t. In fact, now that I think about it, a lot of my college writing was about Dark Souls one way or another. I was obsessed then, and I am still obsessed now.

My biggest bout of obsession occurred about a year after I sold my first copy for Dragon’s Dogma. You see, I had been watching a walkthrough from a YouTuber named Northernlion. He wasn’t great at the game, but he was kicking its ass. Seeing him perform so well made me realize that I shouldn’t be as terrified of this game as I was. I rebought the game, made yet ANOTHER character, and sped through past progress to get to Ornstein and Smough. Seeing how easy revisiting content became after repeated playthroughs internalized the idea that I could beat this thing. I could do this undoable task. After numerous times I defeated the two bosses, and went on to defeat the rest of the game as fearlessly as I approached that once unfathomable task. It was a strong feeling that last me through the end, when I killed Gwyn with parries, saw the shitty ending, and finally witnessed the credits roll. I gained confidence within myself to accomplish what I thought was impossible.

All it took was watching an entire playthrough, obsessively looking up information on the Internet about weapons, builds, summons,  and finally, an entire month of play.

Months after this original playthrough Dark Souls II was slotted for release. Excited, I replayed the first Dark Souls, start to finish, in a week.

That’s whats so great about this game to me. You keep playing, and you keep getting better as a player. It’s not about grinding for experience, although you could do that, it’s about developing a skill. And like I said, in order to develop that skill you have to battle yourself. You have to become willing to fail and willing to learn from your mistakes. This game is my favorite of the 360/ps3 generation, and it’s these experiences that make it such. Not the PvP, which is why most seem to enjoy the game, and not because I feel better than other players of video games just because I defeated such a popularly-touted difficult video game. Its because I feel as though I bettered myself not only as a player of video games. But as a person.

ALSO THE GAMES DANK AS FUCK CHECK OUT THIS FUCKING THING

Dark Souls Dragon Teeth Dick
IT’S COOL AS FUCK!!

2. Super Mario Brothers 3

SHOE smb3

Super Mario Brothers 3 was one of my first video games I had ever played. It was also probably the second game I had ever completed. Pictured above is the version I played, the copy included in the Allstars pack for Super Nintendo. While the original still has its merits, I prefer this version for its superior graphics and sound. Because its the one I played as a kid, this is the version I have most nostalgia for.

SMB3 is everyone’s favorite game. There’s some good reasons for that. Here they are: _____________________________

Maybe its different for everyone, but for me, nostalgia has a lot to do with it. Sure, I could replay this game right now and have a blast, but when I was a kid this thing kept my attention. The levels are vibrantly colorful, each with their own style that is varied across the game’s several levels, meeting the theme presented in every world, of which there are 8. Secrets! This game has some of the best secrets. It took the warp pipe idea from Super Mario Brothers 1 and stretched it out, creating the whistle, which allowed you to warp straight to world 8 (if the player finds the two whistles in world 1).Of course, the player probably shouldn’t warp straight to world 8 if they just started the game. World 8 is hard, and without the items a player finds once playing the game normally, world 8 is extremely difficult.

The items are another one of this game’s strengths. There’s one that turns you into a hammer bro. Come on, that’s fucking great! The most famous perhaps is the tanooki suit, which allows the user to fly like the super leaf, but also allows them to turn into a statue, rending the user stationary and invincible. There’s a P-Wing, which lets users fly through an entire level, skipping it entirely, and the cloud which lets users bypass levels on the world map (both of which are important and useful items during world 7 and 8). The frog suit, which lets users swim easier and faster, is cute enough to be remembered in spite of its usefulness being rendered to select number of levels. Then there’s goomba’s shoe, which lets a player hop around in giant shoe. Best power up ever made.

Super Mario Brothers 3 was the second game I ever beat. And I beat it again and again, which is a credit to how fun the game is to play. Mario games have always felt good to speed through, for me, and this one perhaps feels the best. It was the only game I got good at beating quickly, although I’d never call myself a speed runner at all, but I’d beat the game in little over an hour regularly. Just don’t ask me to do that now, because I wouldn’t be able to come close.

019
Praise the Sun

1. Unreal Tournament 2004

Flak Cannon

FOOLED YOU ANOTHER FIRST PERSON SHOOTER.

For a person who has previously shot a gun only once in his life, I sure like doing it in video games. Combat is just so satisfying when you point your little ridicule and make stuff explode, either in fire or clouds of blood. The genre also provides a great avenue for competition that is easy to get in, but hard as motherfuck to master.

Unreal Tournament 2004 is a modifier (insider’s pun I’m the best) of Quake 3, in that it is a fast moving arena shooter with insane weapons that are created for this universe. Certain weapons themselves are modifiers of Quake weapons, such as the rocket launcher being like the…rocket launcher and the mini gun being a close relative to Quake’s nail gun. It also has a one time use nuke gun that kills everything in one shot, and also a translocator which is a gun that shoots out small discs to which the player can then transport. Very neat, and vital as a skill set to develop, considering the constant use during game types like Capture the Flag.

YOU LOSE.jpg

Like Quake 3, the game’s story is mostly just here’s some matches against bots. The player competes in a series of tournaments until they are the victor, requiting bots to serve as your team mates which are purchased through the currency the player gains from winning matches. UT2004 is a direct sequel to UT2003, itself a sequel to Unreal Tournament (UT99, as it became known), and some of the character models carry story within their description. There are player models to unlock in every game, and usually those models represent the supposed champion from the last game. So you unlock the UT99 champion in UT2003, and similarly the UT2003 champ in UT2004. The descriptions of these player models tell a story of a future where war is settled through these Unreal Tournament matches, which are death sports participated in by mercenary groups, alien races, and corporation funded robots as well as genetically modified robots.  The actual single player games, Unreal, I don’t have much experience in, but they follow a story line that is familiar to gamers: Aliens vs Man. Or Robots vs Men. Or Men vs Men, Robots vs Aliens, Robots vs Robots, Aliens vs Aliens..you get it. Unreal Tournament has some of that in here as well, however the story is discarded in favor of multiplayer fun.

UT2004 added a lot of stuff, but it’s kind of a standalone expansion of UT2003. It’s the same kind of game play with more game modes, more maps, and the addition of vehicles. The game also adds what was added with UT2003 patches, like the game type Invasion (which was my favorite), to the base game.

When this game came out I convinced my dad to buy it almost right away. We were both huge UT2003 fans, me especially, and I just couldn’t wait to see what all that new stuff was about. The features within the games are strong, and multifaceted, but the most important feature of Unreal Tournament is the insane amount of user created support. Like the Valve multiplayer games, players create full maps, game play additions like modifiers and weapons, even entire full games. For all of these, except the total conversions, the player can just join a server and play them after waiting to download what isn’t already downloaded before. The map creator is also fairly easy to use, although requiring some tutorials and a lot of practice. I once stayed up until seven in the morning trying to create a map, deciding once and for all that map creation took way too much time, and that my efforts would be better put to use elsewhere. Players can also create and download skins, which is where a lot of goofiness comes from. At its height you saw players running around as Agent Smith, Goku, Spongebob, Bender, Frylock, Tifa, as well as many, many original creations that varied in quality. In just about every circumstance the player had to have the skin downloaded in order to see a player using it in the wild. If you keep seeing the same character over and over again–generally a black dude wearing dreads, then you’ll know that guy was using a custom skin.

jakob
Default Boy

The maps created in UT2003 and 2004 are the best user created maps I have yet to come across in a mutliplayer game. Players would no doubt recreate popular maps from other titles, such as Bloodgultch or Dust, but then you would get the maps with enormous kitchens where the player was the size of an ant. These maps took ages to play games on due to the amount of hiding spots, some hidden behind walls, some plain hard to reach. There were some maps that defined detail, providing hours of game play just to explore every nook and cranny.

The game play itself is just enormously fun. You jump around like an idiot dodging off the wall firing rocket launchers and flak cannons in an attempt to maybe hit someone with splash damage. It’s not too serious but combat definitely gets hectic and tense if you want it to be. I remember when someone would kill me and I would go serious mode until I hunted the player down and killed them back, to just go back to casual mode until another guy took me down in an equally enraging way. I tended to gravitate to the flak cannon, which doubled as a shotgun and grenade launcher (where primary fire shot flak in a shotgun pattern, and secondary fire shot a grenade of flak that would explode and kill unarmored players in one direct hit). It was the perfect weapon for a run-and-gunner like myself who prefers charging ahead and hunting down enemies as opposed to camping. A lot of servers chose to use Instagib, which was a modified version of the shock rifle that killed in one shot. It had infinite range, so if you saw someone and managed to get them in your cross hairs properly, they exploded into a cloud of red giblets.

My favorite way to play the game was with the many invasion servers. Invasion was a game mode where players, instead of killing each other, grouped up to kill waves of progressively difficult monsters. It’s like horde mode in Gears of War–in fact, seeing as how Unreal made both of the series, one could say it was the precursor to horde mode. Modders took it upon themselves to better this mode in many ways. Like RPG mode, which added several stat increasing investments as well as unlockable powerful skills the player would gain through increase in level. There were also modifiers to how weapons worked. My favorite mod made the waves super hard, adding monsters unavilable in the basic game, while also giving the player every weapon with infinite ammo. Also, the weapons shot really fast, allowing the player to spam flak and rockets infinitely.  It was almost impossible to win without a team of experienced veterans, but it was still fun as hell when ya lost.

The game also introduced me to people online during a time in my life where I isolated myself way more than I do today. I was bad at the game for a very long time but I got better, and ended up getting recruited into a few different clans. I never fought in any clan battles but I still had many fond nights hanging out with friends in death match servers and invasion servers. I’ve chased multiplayer games for years since my time with this game, and nothing came close. Simply put, nothing else has been good enough to warrant the amount of time I spent with this game.

YOU WIN.jpg
MAJESTIC

There you have it. My top 10.

Feel free to expect that I may change, or add, to this top 10 at any time. I will probably accompany my change with an update about the change, and why I changed it.

So if you ever, for whatever fuckin’ reason, thought to yourself “I would what games this stupid fuck likes best huh? HUH?” Well here ya go. Can’t say it was anything special, but I do expect to win a Grammy.

Award-Winning Trashboy

DinkleBot

12/15/2015

4 thoughts on “TOP 10 Video Games of ALL TIME

Leave a Reply

