Impressions

E3 IMPRESSIONS Part 2

IMPRESSIONS YALL

SONY

Sony’s conference was fucked. I’d say it was best of the show overall for a couple of reasons, most notably due to the first game that was shown

GOD OF WAR(?)(!)

I didn’t expect to ever care about God of War. I played the first two and I was done with that gameplay, that world, and that character. Apparently, others share this perspective. Including Cory Barlog, the director of the new God of War (and past directer of God of War II), who has spoken about this new character shift and how needed it was.

If you didn’t know, God of War stared an angry man named Kratos. His family was killed, so he goes and kills everything. People, beasts, Greek Gods, everyone dies before a raging bald man who decorates himself with the ashes of his dead family. It’s super fucking edge lord. You could picture this game having a soundtrack by the band Godsmack instead of its orchestral soundtrack. There’s also a mini-game where you get to have the sex with ladies in a pool. Because sexing is what you need to relax after pulling apart bodies and stomping heads.

For all the things those games get right including the graphics, camera work, and set piece combat moments, the very character of Kratos is so unlikable that I have never returned to those first two games and I will likely never touch the third game for all the praise its got. I am not normally repelled by games like this, but a man screaming as he pulls off a head while I, in the normal world, am mashing the fuck out of an X button for 22 hours, repels me quite heavily.

But enough about those old games, this one looks completely different. Featuring the same character, just much farther into the future and now sporting a beard, an emphasis is placed on Kratos and his relationship with his son. The game features a completely different camera and gameplay style more akin to a RPG. What I saw made me think of Dark Souls with more open world environments like Far Cry. It made a good impression, and I’m happy to see them trying more with this game and this character. I can’t wait to see how it ends up.

Surprise of the show? Yeah.

RESIDENT EVIL VII

Hilarious to see how everyone joked about this being Resident Evil while the demo was broadcasted, and then seeing their reactions when the words popped on the screen.

Seems to be a first person horror game that can be played from start to finish on VR. I don’t know. Nothing about this particular trailer made it Resident Evil. It just looked like a horror game. I’ve since heard that this demo isn’t representative of the game at all: it’s purpose is to demonstrate what the game might be like, while getting you hyped about a new Resident Evil coming out. This may be the first big hitter for VR, but keep in mind that you don’t have to play the game in VR if you don’t want to, or if you cannot. The demo reportedly made a ton of people sick, so they should probably fix that.

Virtual Reality

Given that Sony has its own headset coming out we got a big chunk of VR games being demoed. I wasn’t thrilled about anything I saw. None of it really stood out. Being that I get motion sickness easily I’m not excited about VR. I’m excited to see video games advancing, and I think Virtual Reality should happen. It’s just not for me. Like motion controls, except I’d say VR is much less gimicy.

Or could be. Part of the problem is there just aren’t any games there that I give a shit about. Everything is just an ‘experience,’ which means walking simulator. If appealing full experiences come out I may jump in.

Oh, also if it gets cheaper, and less sick.

Crash Bandicoot

Fart.

Days Gone

Some people thought this game looked awesome. I did not.

Looked like another open world zombie game. How many of these do we need? This may seem strange after reading my post about Microsoft’s conference, where I talk about how much I enjoy  State of Decay. That game is an open world zombie game, but I liked how much ambition it had for being an indie game, and the gameplay was really fun, what with the resource gathering and base building. It also had some roguelike elements to it, now that I think of it, being that the people who spawned at your base were randomly generated and success or failure of your base largely depended on the skills of those people and them getting along. Interesting.

(I may talk about roguelikes in the near future. Keep your eyes open.)

But this game just seems bland. The visual design looks like Last of Us, and nothing was really shown except the admittedly impressive amount of zombies, and how they rush you like the movie World War Z. They move like water, flowing toward you, and then they die in one shot? Where’s the tension in that?

I’ll need to see much more to get me motivated to glance at this game. For now, it gets a rating of nah.

Last Guardian

Doubt it.

Kajima

What?

Fucking okay, this was something.

From the theatrical entrance to Norman Fetus…

I’m interested. Can’t wait to see what this game actually is. Something called Death Stranded, which features a naked Norman Reedus baring C-section scars as he cries about some dead fetus attached to an umbilical cord on a beach. There are hand prints everywhere created by something with oil on its hands. He looks up and sees five floating figures, or pieces of shit depending on how you want to see it. Oh, also apparently the ocean he’s looking at is poisoned because the corpses of hundreds of aquatic creatures lay before Norman’s feet.

I’m doubtful that anything in this trailer is representative of the final game because this is Kojima. It looks like he just wanted to make a cool music video. It is confirmed that Norman stars in this game, which is unsurprising being his apparent role in the canceled Silent Hills, also directed by Kojima.

Horizon Dawn

Everyone’s jazzed about this game. I feel like I need to watch the trailer again because I didn’t see anything that particularly inspired me.

horizon zero dawn.jpg
playstation.com

Trailer

I can see why people are excited. It looks extraordinarily impressive. One of those “next gen” moments where you see a giant triple-A video game striving to look as best as it can while giving players a unique experience. I especially appreciate the protagonist, who is a female with really cool hair, and I’m psyched that it appears to be set in a world I’ve never seen before, with really cool robotic animals running around. I hope the character doesn’t speak whenever I perform a function in the menu because no one fucking talks to themselves that way. I WOULD KNOW I TALK TO MYSELF PROFUSELY.

Also, the title of this game fucking sucks. Horizon Zero Dawn? More like Borevizen Zero Yawn.

(Says the guy with a blog called First Draft in the Trash)

Another issue I have is that this game comes out on the 28th of February next year. That’s a terrible time! For Honor comes out on valentine’s day alongside PERSONA 5! Zelda: Breath of the Wild comes out IN FUCKING MARCH. And being that Zelda is similarly a giant open world game, I’m probably not picking Horizon Zero Dawn up on its release. As a guy that likes purchasing games on release day, this kinda upsets me.

But also excites me because holy fuck next year will be great!

That’s it for Sony. Cool conference. Weird conference. They had a live orchestra playing in between trailers, and during some trailers, and when they showed games they didn’t explain anything, just played the video. It was cool to let the games speak for themselves, but there was a bit of direction needed for some of these games. Also there was definitely a overly serious tone going on throughout the whole thing that rubbed me the wrong way. We’re talking about video games here, people. Lighten the fuck up.

And now for games not appearing in the three major press conferences that mattered!

Zelda: Breath of the Wild

This game looks amazing! From the beautiful open world to the RPG mechanics, everything I’ve seen about this game makes me want to play it. And I can’t wait to see more!

I hope the dungeons are good, and I hope that secrets will be worth it. I feel like secrets make a world, especially an open world, worth exploring, thus more realistic. Sure, you aren’t going to go out in your backyard and find a magic sword buried beneath your doghouse, but you’ll certainly find a really big spider beneath your home that that’s something! Right? Real worlds have surprises and that makes them worth exploring. The RPG mechanics, including equipment-based-loot, leads me to believe secrets will be worth seeking. Let’s hope they don’t fuck those up!

Also dungeons kinda make Zelda games, for the most part, so yeah. Make those good ight.

I’m excited enough about this game, and its showing this year at E3, that I’m attempting to beat more Zelda games before Breath of the Wild comes out. I’m also considering purchasing the NX, or whatever that console will be called, for this game. I have heard concerning reports that the version playable at E3, which was on the WiiU, was pretty bag performance wise. I’d like to believe that this version was too early to be complete, but I don’t know. I may have to wait and see how much the new console costs when THEY DECIDE TO FUCKING SAY A GODDAMN THING ABOUT IT and I may even then have to wait until the game comes out to hear confirmation. I don’t want to play a busted ass version of this game.

Dragon Quest Builders

Looks so cool! From reports I hear the game plays really well, and is really fun, so I’m REALLY EXCITED REALLY. And unlike every other fucking goddamn game that I’m fucking excited for, goddamn, this game is coming out this year instead of next year or whenever they want to drop it so that’s killer! It has been released in Japan, and people have played the game, and they seem to really like it. Minecraft and Dragon Quest is a match made in someone’s basement after one too many psychedelics and I love that game developers still do shit like this. I can’t wait.

BERSERK FUCKING WARRIORS

THIS WASN’T SHOWN BUT NEWS CAME OUT AROUND E3 TIME THAT THERE WAS GOING TO BE A GODDAMN BERSERK GAME COMING OUT AND THAT THE MUSOU GUYS WOULD BE MAKING IT AND I’VE ALWAYS SAID THAT WOULD BE A PERFECT GODDAMN MUSOU GAME I CAN’T FUCKING WAIT I ALSO RECENTLY HEARD IT WOULD BE LOCALIZED FUCK YES I CAN’T WAIT PLEASE RELEASE IT THIS YEAR ALONGSIDE THE JAPANESE VERSION I’M PISSING MYSELF JUST THINKING ABOUT IT THANK YOU.

For Honor

This game looked rad as fuck! And if you’re still with me after that obnoxious running sentence written in all caps, then THANK YOU.

The trailer showed off a portion of the campaign, which reportedly there are three each featuring one of the sides (samurais, vikings, knights) in which you play a viking storming a beach against some samurais. You were one dude within an army, and I always love games that do that. The battle looked appropriately huge, the combat seemed unique and fun, and I’m excited to feel how the game plays in my hands.

I know this game has a focus on multiplayer, but I’m happy to see that the game features a campaign like this. Aliens vs Predator 2 was an amazing game that came out in the early 2000s and NEVER GOT A SEQUEL (I SAID NEVER) and that game featured a similar campaign system where humans, predators, and aliens each got their own campaign. It’s great to get that kind of perspective during a conflict. It works to establish what this conflict means to each individual part, and the differing gameplay styles add value to the player’s time with the game.

Also, those are the best three sets of classic warfare units. goodjob

IF I DECIDED TO MAKE A LIST OF MY TOP WHATEVER GAMES TO BE EXCITED FOR I WOULD WRITE THE FOLLOWING.

  1. Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  2. God of War
  3. Berserk Warriors
  4. Horizon Zero Dawn
  5. For Honor
  6. Dragon Quest Builders
  7. That Pirate Game (Sea of Thieves)
  8. Death Stranded
  9. Quake
  10. Dead Rising 4

So congradulations, Zelda Breath of the Wild. You got my excite of e3 award 2016.

e3 excite award wow.jpg
2016

master of e3

7/5/2016

Leave a Reply

